Twitter is introducing a new privacy-related feature that allows users to remove a follower without blocking them. The latest tool is designed to give users better control over their follower lists and is currently available on the web version. Twitter tested this option from September this year. Once a Twitter user removes someone, the user’s tweets will no longer automatically appear in their timeline. The social media company states that the followers a user removes with the new tool will not be notified of the change.
Twitter announced the addition of this new feature through its support handle @TwitterSupport on the platform. The microblogging company announced that the latest update would allow users to be the curator of their own list of followers. Twitter users can remove anyone from their list of followers on their profile page. To do this, click on Followers, then on the three-dot icon next to a follower’s name, and finally on the Remove this Follower option. Your tweets will no longer automatically appear in your timeline. As mentioned earlier, a follower removed from you will not be notified of the change.
We make it easier for you to be the curator of your own follower list. Try it on the web now: remove a follower without blocking it.
To remove a follower, go to your profile and click on “Follower”, then on the three-dot icon and select “Remove this follower”. pic.twitter.com/2Ig7Mp8Tnx
– Twitter support (@TwitterSupport) September 7, 2021
It’s important to note that blocking and removing a follower on Twitter is completely different. After a follower is removed, they won’t see your Tweets in their feed, but the person will have the option to follow you again if they want. If you block someone, access to your profile will be completely cut off.
Twitter has released a lot of updates lately. The latest feature is part of a suite of privacy tools the company has been working on since September this year. Twitter previously announced that it was working on a security feature that would allow users of the platform to temporarily suspend accounts for a period of seven days to use malicious language or send unsolicited responses. To create more social privacy and reduce nuisance on the platform, Twitter recently started testing a new tool that would allow users to get the mood of a conversation before joining. The new Prompts feature warns users before they join a conversation that could get hot. It will appear under certain tweets on the platform for users to notice before they dive into the replies.
Follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News for the latest technical news and reviews. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for the latest gadget and tech videos.
Nithya P Nair is a journalist with more than five years of experience in digital journalism. She specializes in business and technology beats. A foodie at heart, Nithya loves exploring new places (kitchen reading) and sneaking into Malayalam movie dialogues to spice up conversations. More