Instagram is restoring support for Twitter Card previews. With the new feature, Instagram links shared on Twitter show a small preview of the link that includes an image instead of the URL. Users can preview the Instagram post without opening the link. With the latest change, when you share an Instagram link on Twitter, a preview is displayed that is similar to what most articles and other media would appear on the microblogging platform. The roll-out of the feature for Android, iOS and the web has begun.
Both Instagram and Twitter announced the update on November 3rd via tweets. The latest feature will make it easier to cross-post Instagram to Twitter. Facebook’s own photo-sharing platform used to allow full-size images on Twitter, but was discontinued in 2012, and Instagram shared links simply appeared as URLs in a tweet.
They said it would never happen … Twitter Card Previews are rolling out TODAY. 👀
Now whenever you share an Instagram link on Twitter, you’ll see a preview of that post. pic.twitter.com/XSZRx9dzd1
– Instagram (@instagram) November 3, 2021
If you want to share your latest Instagram post on the Twitter timeline as well, you’re in luck: if you now share a link to an IG post in a tweet, it will appear as a card with a preview of the photo.
Rollout on Android, iOS and the web.
– Twitter support (@TwitterSupport) November 3, 2021
Instagram and Twitter recently added a number of new features. Collabs, unveiled by Instagram in October, allow two users to post the same content together. Users can co-author feed posts and reels, and both creator names appear in the header of the post. Both groups of followers can also see the same post or reel. In addition, Instagram assists users in posting photos and videos through the desktop browser.
Regardless, Twitter recently expanded Spaces to all users. The clubhouse style feature allows users to create their own chat room on both Android and iOS. The function enables the creation of public and private audio chat rooms on the microblogging platform. Additionally, Twitter introduced a new privacy-related feature that allows users to remove a follower without blocking them. Once a Twitter user removes someone, the user’s tweets will no longer automatically appear in their timeline. It is currently available in the web version.
Follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News for the latest technical news and reviews. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for the latest gadget and tech videos.
Nithya P Nair is a journalist with more than five years of experience in digital journalism. She specializes in business and technology beats. A foodie at heart, Nithya loves exploring new places (kitchen reading) and sneaking into Malayalam movie dialogues to spice up conversations. More Web summit in Lisbon: Apple’s software boss warns of a draft EU directive in the App Store